About eVisa to Australia

Australia eVisa is an online visa implemented by the Australian authorities in 2018. The aim of its introduction was to facilitate and expedite the visa application procedure.

There are two types of Australian visas online – eVisitor and ETA that certain nationals can apply for. Both visas differ only in terms of the list of eligible countries.

Once the Australian ETA or eVisitor visa is granted, it will be automatically linked to the applicant’s passport. Visa holders can use the Australian electronic visa for purposes related to tourism, business, or transit.

The online visa for Australia remains valid for 12 months and covers numerous entries to Australia. Every single stay can last as long as 3 months.

Do remember to submit the Australia eVisa application a few days prior to the planned trip to receive the visa approval on time and avoid unnecessary stress.

Visiting Australia without a valid visa if you are not visa-exempt may result in your entry denial. Make sure to check what type of visa for Australia you qualify for and obtain yours well in advance of the planned journey.

Types of Australian eVisa

The Australian government introduced two types of online visas. It is the applicant’s nationality that indicates the type of visa they should obtain. Both Australian visas cover the following purposes:

  • leisure: plan your holidays in Australia, go sightseeing, meet your family and friends, etc.;
  • business: travel to Australia to handle your business affairs, take part in business events, look for business partners, and many more;
  • transit: make a transit stop when passing through Australia before you reach your final destination.

ETA (subclass 601)

ETA (subclass 601) is a visa covering numerous entries. It is issued for 12 months to nationals of a few countries (see the list of eligible countries below). Travelers can apply for Australian ETA either online or using a dedicated Australian ETA app.

eVisitor visa (subclass 651)

eVisitor visa (subclass 651) also remains valid for 1 year from the date of issue and covers multiple entries to Australia. Nationalities qualifying for the eVisitor visa are all European countries.

Australisches visum

List of eligible countries

Below, you can check if your country of nationality makes you eligible for an online application for an eVisitor visa or ETA.


  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Malaysia
  • Japan
  • Hong Kong (SAR of China)
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan (excluding official or diplomatic passports)
  • Macau
  • United States of America

eVisitor visa

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican City (Holy See)

Australia visa online application

Submitting the Australia visa application online should take only a couple of minutes of your time. Prepare a working electronic device, check your Internet connection, and start applying online by following these steps:

  1. Click the ‘Apply Online’ button and complete the online application form by providing all necessary details.
  2. Cover the processing fee using one of the available means of online payment.
  3. Check your email address and make sure that you have received the confirmation email with your individual ID number. Your granted Australian visa will also be sent to your email inbox.

Please bear in mind that the processing time, as well as the final decision, is at the total discretion of the Australian government.

Austalisches Visum


The requirements that you will need to meet to complete your Australian visa application are very basic. You will need to prepare the following documents:

  • a scan or photo of your passport bio-data page (in color with all four corners visible)
  • a good quality applicant’s selfie (taken on a natural background without glasses, a subtle smile is allowed) – required for the ETA application


Who needs an Australian visa?

The Australian visa is necessary to be obtained by all non-visa-exempt countries. Depedning on the traveler’s nationality, travelers can apply either for ETA Australia or an eVisitor visa.

Do US citizens need a visa for Australia?

Yes. US citizens do need to apply for ETA Australia online. They can either download the Australian ETA app and apply for their own or submit an online application via our website and receive the approved Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) via email.

How do I get a visa for Australia?

Prepare all required documents, including a valid passport and working electronic device, and go to the online application form. Provide all necessary details, upload supporting documents, and cover the processing fee. The Australian visa will be sent to you as soon as it is approved by the government of Australia.

How much is the Australian visa fee?

The processing fee for an eVisitor visa is 59 EUR, while nationals of ETA-eligible countries need to cover the service fee of 79 EUR. The fee can be covered using one of the most common methods of online payment.

What is the validity of Australian visas?

Both the Australian ETA and eVisitor visas are issued for 12 months (1 year) and permit multiple entries to the country. A single stay with a valid Australian visa can last up to 3 months.

What are the requirements to apply for an Australian eVisa?

The requirements are very simple and include holding a valid passport (valid for a minimum of 6 months from the date of intended arrival date). However, applicants for the Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) are also asked to upload a good-quality face frontal selfie.